Conference Attendance Grants

Grants for Participation in the Annual SIGUCCS Conference

conference attendees

The purpose of the SIGUCCS Grant program is to provide partial support for individuals in institutions of higher education to participate in the annual SIGUCCS Conference. This support is funded by SIGUCCS and consists of a full registration to the Annual Conference and up to 4 nights of hotel room accommodations.

Submit an application now.


A. Qualifications— To be considered for a grant, an applicant must be a current full-time staff member in an institution of higher education. Preference will be given to those who have at least six months of experience in supporting information technology users. A maximum of four grants will be awarded for the Annual Conference. No individual may receive a grant for the Conference more than once. We particularly encourage submissions from employees at institutions that have not been represented at a SIGUCCS Conference in the past five years.

B. Grant Applications— The grant application process will open in June 2023. Grant applications must be submitted by July 14 for early decision and by November 1 for regular decision. 

C. Grant Notifications— On or before August 1 for early decision or December 1 for regular decision, applicants for the upcoming conference will be notified if they did or did not receive a grant. We offer two application periods to accommodate planning processes at institutions. We reserve grants to be awarded to qualified applicants during the regular decision period. Unsuccessful applications will not be retained past the regular decision awards–new applications must be submitted each year. Successful applicants will be given appropriate information about how to use the grant. Successful applicants must submit an acceptance of the grant by September 1 (early decision) or January 1 (regular decision), or the grant will be cancelled. Acceptance must be sent via email.

D. Grant Components— Each grant will consist of a full registration for the Annual Conference and up to four nights of lodging during the conference at the conference hotel. All additional costs, including travel expenses, meals not included in registration, preconference seminars, or additional nights at the hotel, must be assumed by the award recipient, hopefully with support from their institution.

Grant Recipients

Spring 2023
Mike Roberts, Utica University
DJ Wyrick, University of Oregon
Reina Werth, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Victoria Waldron, University of Rochester
Jason Dailey, California Institute of the Arts

Fall 2019
Lisa Terrier, Middlebury College
Joshua Savoy, UW-Platteville
Steven Thompson, Arizona State University

Fall 2018
Patricia Carpenter, Harvey Mudd College
Jennifer Houston, Earlham College
Rouben Tchakhmakhtchian, University of Toronto

Fall 2017
Deyu Hu, Virginia Tech
Maria Contreras Michel, University of Texas at El Paso
Ralph M. Miller, University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown

Fall 2016
Robert Morris, Mount Mary University
Theresa Duhart, Highline Community College
Rebekah Cowin, Washington University in St. Louis

Fall 2015
Merri Schaffner, University of South Florida
Desiree Gualandri, Cornish College of the Arts
Dennis Thonstad, Linfield College

Fall 2014
Andy Hogan, Keuka College
Barbara Long, WVNET
Eric Lemmons, Abilene Christian

Fall 2013
Yelena Lyudmilova, Essex County College
Steve Mihm II, The College at Brockport, State University of New York
Julie VanLeuven, Idaho State University

Fall 2012
Cody Down, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
Chris Olance, Adams State University
Jackie Thames, University of North Texas

Fall 2011
Lori Duquette, Lambton College
Susan Kerr, Georgia Gwinnett College
Shannon Pretko, Cedar Crest College

Spring 2011
Steve McKinney, Moravian College
Gary Sullivan, University of Oregon
David Kleckner, UNC- Chapel Hill
Melissa Bauer, Baldwin-Wallace College
Elizabeth Wagnon, Texas A&M University

Fall 2010
Stephen McTigue, Roanoke College
Patrick Pow, University of Washington – Tacoma
Ayola Singh-Kreitz, University of Florida
Gary Wong, Community College at Lingnan University
Jay Yates, IUPUI

Spring 2010
Melody Buckner, University of Arizona
Navneet Goyal, Birla Institute of Technology and Science
Kristen Dietiker, University of Washington
Marsha McGough, Bastyr University
Kim Tracy, Northeastern Illinois University

Fall 2009
Yvonne Clark, Juniata College
Savonne McNeill, Gaston College
Charles Hall, Alabama State University
Ted Wheeler, Northwest Nazarene University
Jeremy J. Henle, Illinois Wesleyan University
Erik Kosta, University of San Diego

Spring 2009
Robert Campbell, City University of New York, Graduate Center
Kirk Klaphaak, Indiana University Southeast
Tom McMurtry, Montreat College
Allan Chen, Santa Clara University, School of Law
Gail Farally-Semerad, Widener University

Fall 2008
Raymond Cheung, Kansas State University
Andrew Cunningham, Kenyon College
Lisa McKinney, Linfield College
Chris Koerner, St. Louis University
Jeremiah Ray, Valparaiso University