Hall of Fame 2000

Note: The accomplishments listed on this page are current as of Fall, 2000.

booneyJean Bonney

  • SIGUCCS Past Chair 1983-1985
  • CSMS Program Chair 1981
  • SIGUCCS Chair 1979-1981
  • SIGUCCS Board 1977-1979
  • Chair, User Services Conference 1975

cavinessJane Shearin Caviness

  • SIGUCCS Past Chair 1987-1991
  • SIGUCCS Chair 1985-1987
  • SIGUCCS Vice Chair 1982-1985

William Heinbecker

  • CSMS Program Chair 1982-1984
  • SIGUCCS Board 1979-1981
  • CSMS Local Arrangement Chair 1974-1981

Ralph E. Lee

  • SIGUCCS Chair 1973-1975
  • CSMS Conference Chair 1974-1981

Ralph served as (the fifth) SIGUCCS Chair from 1973-75, during which time he organized and chaired the first SIGUCCS Computer Center Management Symposium in St. Louis (CCMS – now known as the annual Computer Services Management Symposium, or CSMS) in 1974. He chaired the next seven CCMS’s in the same location as well, firmly establishing this conference as an annual event in “The Gateway City”. Ralph spent many years as both a faculty member and Director of Computing at The University of Missouri – Rolla, from which he retired several years ago.

lutzRobert W. Lutz

  • SIGUCCS Chair 1983-1985
  • SIGUCCS Board 1981-1983

Rita Seplowitz Saltz

  • SIGUCCS Secretary/Treasurer 1991-1993
  • Chair, User Services Conference 1980
  • Newsletter Editor 1977-1981

Gordon R. Sherman

  • SIGUCCS Board 1973-1975
  • SIGUCCS Chair 1971-1973
  • SIGUCCS Vice Chair 1968-1971

Gordon was Vice Chair of SIGUCCS, 1968-71 and went on to become the fourth Chair of SIGUCCS, serving from 1971 until 1973. He formed the committee which organized the first ACM-SIGUCCS User Services Conference in Chicago in April, 1973, and also appointed the first SIGUCCS Newsletter Editor. He served on the Board from 1973 until 1975. Most of his professional career was spent at The University of Tennessee – Knoxville, where he was responsible for all aspects of computing over many years before his retirement.

John E. Skeltonskelton

  • SIGUCCS Board 1987-1991
  • CSMS Program Chair 1986

John served on the SIGUCCS board and was chair of the EDUCOM membership committee. He earned his Ph.D. in Mathematics and began his academic career as a Professor of Mathematics at the University of Denver. He served as Computer Center Director at the University of Minnesota in Duluth and Oregon State University. In both cases his successor was someone whom John had mentored. John published professionally including a text on BASIC. He was active in the Phi Kappa Phi honor society and Rotary. He retired in 1994 and died in 1996.

Frank A. Thomas

  • SIGUCCS Secretary/Treasurer 1993-1995
  • SIGUCCS Board 1989-1991
  • CSMS Program Chair 1988
  • CSMS Program Co-Chair 1987

TowsterAlicia Ewing Towster

  • Program Co-Chair User Services Conference 1983
  • Newsletter Editor 1981-1991